Minutes of Funk

Intercontinental Groove Station

Listen Again: 17-11-2015, Radio Free Brooklyn Premiere

The East Coast return of Minutes of Funk. After residencies on WPRB (New Jersey), Wired Radio (London), and CJSF (Vancouver, BC), the show opened a new season on Radio Free Brooklyn on November 17 with new music from Floating Points, Holy Forest, Mbongwana Star, Roots Manuva, Jean-Marie Bolangassa, and more. With excursions into spiritual jazz archives (Sun Ra Quartet, Atarpop 73), disco and funk classics (Candido, Fatback Band, Bileo), and reissued afro gems (Wganda Kenya), this first episode serves as a re-introduction to the musical eclecticism of this intercontinental groove station.


Floating Points “Silhouettes Parts 1, 2, 3” 

Holy Forest “Lion's Door” 

Mbongwana Star “Kimpala Pala” 

Antibalas “Tattletale, Pt. 1” 

Antibalas “Dirty Money” 

Quantic y su combo barbaro “Enyere Kumbara” 

Seven Davis Junior “Try Me (I'll Funk You) (Mono/Poly Remix)” 

Jean-Marie Bolangassa “La vie” 

Roots Manuva “Facety 2:11 (prod. Four Tet)” 

Roots Manuva “One Thing” 

Quantic “Spark It (feat. Shinehead)” 

Romare “Motherless Child” 

Sun Ra Quartet “When There Is No Sun ft. John Gilmore” 

Atarpop 73 & Le Collectif Le Temps des Cerises “Attention ... L'armee” 

Holy Forest “Cities on Fire (feat. Preachermann)” 

Fatback “Girls On My Mind” 

Paris “Guerrilla Funk (Deep Fo' Real Mix)” 

Shabba Ranks “Watcha Gonna Do ft. Queen Latifa” 

Whodini “Five Minutes of Funk” 

Pender Street Steppers “Opening Up” 

Gloria Gaynor “Goin Out of My Head” 

Candido “Thousand Finger Man” 

Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo “Universe is Love” 

Wganda Kenya “Shakalode” 

Bileo “Let's Go”